Like it? Share it!

DC axes six New 52 titles, replacing them with six more

DC’s not done with revamping the DC universe with their New 52 titles. They recently announced six titles that once got the New 52 treatment that will be getting the axe and replacing them with six new titles that will get the revamp treatment.

The new titles will launch in the spring, after each of the outgoing series has a chance to publish an eighth and final issue. According to DC’s editor-in-chief Bob Harras, the new titles—which DC is branding “The Second Wave”—will focus more on expanding the world of the New 52 than the titles that launched last fall.

“The excitement of the initial launch of DC Comics—The New 52 was in seeing the re-imagining of these classic characters and concepts,” said Harras. “The ‘Second Wave’ is all about world-building.”

The titles we’re losing are Men of War, O.M.A.C., Static Shock, Hawk and Dove, Mister Terrific and Blackhawks, all of which will conclude in April. In their place, we get these:

Batman Incorporated, written by Grant Morrison and drawn by Chris Burnham, will continue Morrison’s concept of Bruce Wayne taking the Batman brand to an international scale to combat a global threat. Earth 2, written by James Robinson and drawn by Nicola Scott, will star a Justice Society fighting evil on an Earth parallel to our own.

Worlds’ Finest, written by Paul Levitz and drawn by George Perez and Kevin Maguire, will continue the parallel world theme by following Earth 2’s Huntress and Power Girl as they try to get back to their world after they’re stranded on our Earth.

Dial H, written by China Mieville and drawn by Mateus Santoluoco, will feature a “bold new take” on the concept of an ordinary man who gains superpowers and becomes a hero.

G. I. Combat will feature the return of the classic soldiers vs. dinosaurs story The War That Time Forgot, written by J. T. Krul and drawn by Ariel Olivetti, along with rotating backup stories The Unknown Solider by writers Justin Gray and Jimmy Palmiotti and artist Dan Panosian and The Haunted Tank by writer John Arcudi and artist Scott Kolins.

The Ravagers, by writer Howard Mackie and artist Ian Churchill, will spin off from both Teen Titans and Superboy to tell the story of four teens with powers on the run from a group that wants to turn them into supervillains.


3 notes


  1. ireptheburgh reblogged this from iheartchaos
  2. iheartchaos posted this

blog comments powered by Disqus

See all IHC Reviews here

Want to submit a review for IHC and make a few bucks?
Please drop us a line and let us know what movie, game, book or TV show you want to review and we'll hold your spot. See full review guidelines here.